Vegetarian or Vegan? What’s The Difference

I’ve noticed recently that more people are trending towards becoming a vegetarian or vegan. What’s the difference you ask?

Vegetarians don’t consume meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or by-products slaughtered by animals. Their diet consists of fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, dairy, beans, peas, and lentils. There are several categories of vegetarianism. Lacto-Ovo vegetarians avoid animal flesh but consume dairy and egg products. Lacto-vegetarians avoid animal flesh and eggs but do consume dairy products. Ovo-vegetarians avoid all animal products except eggs.

Vegans are vegetarians who avoid all animal and animal-derived products. This includes gelatin, honey, pepsin, whey, casein and some forms of vitamin D3. Taken a step further, according to the Vegan Society, veganism is a way of living that attempts to exclude all forms of animal exploitation and cruelty as much as possible.

The two have different philosophies as well as to why they forbid certain foods. Vegetarians, for example, are opposed to

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com